Sunday, February 24, 2008

Grindhouse (2007)


Now, I first heard of this movie in Jan of '07, I immediately jumped on the wagon and fell in love instantly. This movie reenacted the classic movies of the 70's and did a nearly damn great job of it. I think the whole brilliance of the movie was making it into an double feature. It's two movies for the price of one! How cool is that?
Now the movie itself was fantastic in my opinion. Others didn't agree with me on this film. It mostly depends on your taste of movies. If you can see past it, and accept it for what it is, than this is something I'd recommend. If you want to have actual plot in the film and want great effects with surreal animation, or a feature film with an all-star cast and a fantastic screenplay, than no. Turn around. Don't even rent this movie. This is not a movie for you.
Don't get me wrong, this movie has a fantastic cast and even small names that have the potential to make it big. The plot itself develops even more by itself and relies more on the cinematography more than anything. But you have Tarantino and Rodriguez directing the films in this feature, so for sure the imagery will be great.

So, what did happen for this movie?

Well, I wanted to originally watch this movie with my friend Chelsea Hahn, but that didn't work out as planned. So, at the last minute, I started to call as many people as I could before I went to go see the movie.
No one. Not a single person picked up their phones. So I had to convince my mother that I was going by myself and that I would be fine. Honestly, I was a bit annoyed no one wanted to go, but what could I do? It was out of my hands and other's decision. She actually allowed me to go, but to promise to come home right after the movie was over. I promised.
So I'm driving up Highway 59 towards Sugar Land, TX. South of Houston. Usually it takes a person going the speed limit and driving carefully around at least 45 to 50 minutes. I got there in 32. I really (and I mean REALLY) wanted to see this movie so bad! I get to the AMC Theaters in Sugar Land, right next to the First Colony Mall. I got there a little early, but that's okay because I like to wait in line to get a drink without having to rush everywhere. But my mind wasn't set on drink. It was set on movie! I pay for my ticket and get inside. They rip off the stub (which is what I have) and hand it over to me. As I'm walking into the theater room, they as for identification.
Now, I have never heard of a movie theater asking for identification before you enter into a movie. This just baffled me. But I'm already 18 at the time and didn't really care to get carded. The guy let me go in. As I was walking into the theater, they carded the people behind me. Now this couple looked more mature and psyched to see this movie just as me. I could tell it in the guy's face. His face lit up when he was next in line. But once they asked for ID, his headlights for eyes went off. He showed them the card, and didn't let him because he wasn't of age. The guy was freaking 16 years old! The girl looked not a bit over 18. But I'm guessing she, as well, was a minor. Apparently, they weren't letting anyone under the age of 18 in. They really did have some grotesque scenes in there that were too violent for young eyes.
After the movie was finished, I called my mother to tell her I was headed back home. She's in Mexico at the time this is happening as well with my father. I checked the clock on my phone and realized it was 12:36 A.M. I went inside the movie theater at 9:00 P.M. And I didn't get out until 3 1/2 hours later!

But it was the greatest 3 1/2 hours of me life.
:)

1 comment:

Sophie-Kaijuu said...

Grindhouse, LOL!
I never really wanted to see it but I just remember laughing at that hot chick with the gun for the leg. xD

That is completely weird, they asked for identification? Wtf?
):
That sucks.
Glad you liked it though. I don't think I would...I'm not too big on mindless movies, but I do really like Tarantino's films. =)